Bunk Carpet - SaltwaterCentral.Com

Post new topic   Reply to topic
 

fishingneighbor
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:20 pm
The Lowrance Elite 9 Ti purchase came with a C-MAP Insight Pro and Navionics+ card. Only one card can be used at a time in the Elite 9 Ti and from what I can tell, the data on these cards does not import to the unit. Could not try them out this weekend due to the weather.
Any advice on which one is preferred over the other?

I fish in the 0-20+ mile range and get out deeper when the weather allows. Carolina Beach, Morehead, and Oak Island areas.

Thanks for any guidance shared.
  
View user's profile Send private message

SEAHORSE
Posts: 1151
Location: Carolina Beach
Reply with quote
Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:42 pm
Iíve had plotters that used c-map and Iíve had units that used navionics.
IMO the Navionics was far superior. FYI Garmin bought Navionics which I feel will be a great blend of the two best navigation sources out there.
_________________
Think I will change the name of my boat to Livin The Dream!!
  
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fishingneighbor
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:37 pm
Thank you Seahorse.
I have registered my Navionics+ card and played around with it in the unit in the driveway.
  
View user's profile Send private message

SlackTide
Posts: 31
Reply with quote
Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:03 pm
That Navionics+ card will give you much more detail, I think. Plus, the fact that you can update it is invaluable, especially after a hurricane blows through and messes up the bottom. Make sure you get it dialed in right with the one-foot contours so you get the full effect.  
View user's profile Send private message

fishingneighbor
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
Mon May 06, 2019 11:13 pm
SlackTide,

Do I set the 1 foot contour lines when I am on the website with the chip or once the chip is in the unit?
I must have missed that setting on my first go around.
Thank you for the tip.
  
View user's profile Send private message

SlackTide
Posts: 31
Reply with quote
Wed May 08, 2019 2:50 pm
fishingneighbor wrote:
SlackTide,

Do I set the 1 foot contour lines when I am on the website with the chip or once the chip is in the unit?
I must have missed that setting on my first go around.
Thank you for the tip.


Once you update your chip on the website, the one-foot contours are there. It may be a matter of dialing in a setting on your plotter. There should be a Sonar Chart Density selector in one of the menus of the settings. Also, make sure you choose the Navionics charts on the plotter as well.
  
View user's profile Send private message

Post new topic   Reply to topic


Jump to:   

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Bunk Carpet - SaltwaterCentral.Com

*